Role-Based Access Control or RBAC is the restriction of system access to authorised users based on pre-determined roles within Canopy Manage. Canopy Manage allows you to set and manage the roles of users within the system and what permissions those roles have access to.



Users

The list of users can be found in Settings > Organisation > Users, here you can view the name, email, role, and time of last activity of each user in the system. You can also filter the list through a search bar or "Role" dropdown box. 



Adding Users

Selecting the blue "Invite User" button in the top right corner of the Users page will bring up a page for you to input the information of the new User to be added. Input their email address, first name, and last name, then select their role before selecting the save button to finalize the new User addition. 

Managing and Deleting Users

To manage or delete already existing users you simply hover your cursor over the user you wish to edit/delete and move over to the right-hand side where an ellipsis shall appear. Selecting the ellipsis will open a small window with the options "Edit", "Delete", and "Re-send Invite Email".


Selecting "Edit" will open a similar menu that inviting a new user would, with their name and roles ready to be changed. 


Selecting "Delete" will open a menu called "Confirm delete" where you can select the red "Delete" button to permanently delete the user. You can also click the "Cancel" button if this is a mistake.


Selecting "Re-send Invite email" will open a menu asking you to confirm that you want to re-send the invite email to the user.  



Roles

The list of roles is found in Settings > Organisation > Roles, here you can see the name and number of permissions each role has. This list can be sorted through a search filter or the dropdown box in the top right to filter by permissions. 



Adding Roles

Selecting the blue "New Role" button in the top right corner will bring up the "Create role" window, Input the name of the new role and navigate through the list of permissions, selecting those which this new role shall have. Once done, select the "Save" button to finalize the new role.



Managing and Deleting Roles

To manage or delete already existing roles you simply hover your cursor over the role you wish to edit/delete and move over to the right-hand side where an ellipsis shall appear. Selecting the ellipsis will open a small window with the options "Edit" and "Delete". 


Selecting "Edit" will open the same menu that creating a new role would, with the roles permissions and name already set, ready to be changed. 


Selecting "Delete" will open a menu called "Confirm Delete" where you can select the red "Delete" button to permanently delete the role. You can also click the "Cancel" button if this is a mistake.